Dr. Larry Bramlage



W

Committee Members

- Mr. Stuart S. Janney III, Chairman
- Mr. John Barr
- Mr. James G. Bell
- Dr. Larry Bramlage
- Ms. Dell Hancock
- Mr. Steve Duncker
- Dr. Hiram Polk

Wel

Thoroughbred Safety Committee

- Has no legislative or enforcement powers
- Operates through consensus building
- Has embraced and promoted many industry initiatives already initiated, but not implemented (some of which came out of these summits)

Recommendations and Adoptions

- Adoption of the Model Rule on Anabolic Steroids
 - 31 states
- Adoption of the Model Rule for Safety Crops
 - 9 states and 4 tracks by house rule
- The ban on all traction devices on front shoes, other than toe grabs no greater than 4mm
 - 18 states and 8 tracks by house rule
- Adoption of the ARCI Uniform Classification Guideline and Penalties
 - 12 states

Recommendations and Adoptions

- Participation in the Equine Injury Database
 - 86 racetracks, representing 86% of flat racing days in the U.S. and Canada
 - The National Steeplechase Association
- Adoption of the Model Rule on the use of alkalinizing substances (TCO2)
 - 19 states now have a TCO2 rule with Pennsylvania starting July 15
- Development of the Drug Testing Initiative

Pre-Race Exam Software

- InCompass Solutions offers this service free of charge
 - We strongly encourage all racetracks and regulatory veterinarians to participate in this program





Future

Medication

Information Management

Welfare and Safety Summit



THE JOCKEY CLUB

- Home
- About The Jockey Club
- About the Registry
- Safety Initiatives
- Publications & Resources
- Media Center
- Silks / Stable Registry
- Industry Organizations
- FAQ
- Contact Us
- Site Map

Thoroughbred Safety Committee



Thoroughbred Safety Committee

The Thoroughbred Safety Committee was created in May 2008 to review every facet of equine health and to recommend actions the industry can take to improve the health and safety of Thoroughbreds.

The committee has convened several times to discuss myriad safety issues with a cross section of industry representatives, including jockeys, trainers, veterinarians, chemists, pedigree experts, handicappers, owners, breeders, blacksmiths, racing commissioners, racetrack executives and geneticists.

Committee members are Stuart S. Janney III (chairman), John Barr, James G. (Jimmy) Bell, Dr. Larry Bramlage, C. Steven Duncker, Dell Hancock and Dr. Hiram C. Polk Jr. Each is a member of The Jockey Club.

The Thoroughbred Safety Committee, which issued its first set of recommendations in June 2008 and its second in August 2008, is a standing committee of The Jockey Club.

Recommendations >

Actions >

Media Coverage >

Press Releases >

Transcripts >